Whack!
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Back To Watch

I decided to hang out at the local USDAA trial this weekend to support my hubby and daughter as well as some of my students.  I am so glad that I did.  I got to see a lot of great runs but most importantly I got a small feel of “getting back into it”.  I have been out since July and starting to look forward to running the USDAA stuff myself.  My goals for coming back are all about running without fear and not worrying about taking chances.  It will be a new mind set for me as I am pretty cautious.  I don’t run cautious I just don’t tend to take chances on skills I know my dogs have done at home but have never proven in competition.  I know I have great dogs… but there are all the cliches’ that I can’t seem to make my “rules to live by”   –  No guts No Glory, You Gotta Risk it to get the biscuit, You gotta be in it to win it.     yeah, there are a lot of them.  But I fear making a fool out of myself.   Yeah, I know, too late.  I still worry though.   However, I keep telling myself this is a good year for me and my dogs and we are going to run it.  I have worked so very hard getting myself back together to get back in the ring, I know I can do it.

Anyway,  on Sunday they had the Master Challenge Jumpers and Katelyn made me go out and walk it since the ring was open forever.  At first I didn’t know what to do with it.  I have been injured since my daughter and I have been bringing in the new training for my facility and have not put it together on a course before.  So I walked dog path, that was easy.  By doing that I knew exactly what flow I need for each jump and what line I needed to set for each sequence.  Handling was a little trickier.  I walked it again and at the end realized I had walked it with all the old stuff, I couldn’t figure out the new stuff   lol.  So I walked it again.  I knew the girl was watching me shaking her head I could feel her burning into the back of my head!!!  lol   Third time is a charm.  Finally figured out the new stuff and it took off from there.  I usually fear these courses but when I figured out the best lines it just kept flowing.   Now I wished I could run it!   It was a really good exercise for me and I am even more energized to move forward so it was all good for me.  When I got back up to the stands I asked Katelyn if I had gotten it right – 0 out of 10 or 10 out of 10.  She said I got a few wrong the first few times I walked it but at the end I got 10 out of 10!   Yeah!!!!

Can’t wait to play in May in Idaho with the boys!!!!   And we found out they are going to have the challenger classes!

 

2 Responses to “Back To Watch”

  1. Yeah!! Can’t wait to see you again!! I need lesson help too! Feel free to beat me up!

  2. 🙂 Ah, my specialty


Leave a Reply

